Basement and Fence stuffs…

This weekend, amidst seven-hundred and thirty-four other home projects going, I took some time to clear out the basement. Our basement has become a catch-all for where-do-we-put-it junk, and I wanted that remedied. I need room for brewing, rocking, drinking, and laundry-ing. First up was to go thru it all, then junk what we didn’t need, then organize. I am proud to say that not only did I clean it all, I set up Tacoma’s Best Record Collection™ for my forlorn ears to be nurtured by:

IMG_1518.JPG

That’s as far as I got, but it is a huge accomplishment. The rocking area is out of frame, as well as my brewing area. Pics to follow.

When I was screwing around, me and the wife decided to build a fence for our fierce guard beast, as well as keep out the roving gangs of whoevers. The last owners actually removed their fence but left the posts, so instead of cutting them out and adding new ones, we just re-used theirs. Problem is, in my perfectionist carpenter’s mind, the posts were not all equal distances apart, nor we they as straight as I like. I think we came up with a nice staggered design using what we had to work with, tiny gate and all:

IMG_1519.JPG

The gaps are larger then the picture shows, but whatev. We didn’t continue the fence down the side because we actually like our neighbors, and talk to them at the fence regularly. The ‘gate’ on the end is more hidden on the front side of the fence, but I don’t have that picture. I need to trim the post tops and add our fancy post caps, then build a gate on the other side of the house.

Next up: raised planter beds, more basement mayhem, garage door a-go-go, upstairs bathroom finishing, and tons of other homeownery crap!

Leave a comment

Filed under basement, fence, house, Tacoma, yard

Leave a comment