Holy Crap…

…I’m beat tired. Here’s some pics to get you all up to speed:

IMG_4580.JPG
Found behind the old medicine cabinet. “Remodeled 9/24/82”, “sink, cabinet and lights Pay-N-Pak 38th Street Mall”, and some personal info graced this message under 1/4″ of sheetrock, then 3/8″ plywood coated in some weird paper, then 1/4″ of plywood, then lath and plaster. I wonder how much square footage I gained after removing all those layers of crap.

IMG_4582.JPG
Shot of my future throne. I ripped out the flat ceiling over the tub and put in a dropped vaulted lid. New can lights in that section, and a new fart-fan/light combo over in the toilet area.

IMG_4583.JPG
Window in my future throne room. This will be a new vinyl unit next Friday. It leaked and the frame was shot, causing some of my rot frustrations earlier in the week.

IMG_4585.JPG
Future home of dishwasher (I’ve never owned one in my life), sink, and other cabinet-related items. I’ll fix the food to get my eat on here sometime soon. Added new outlets, redid the wiring and plumbing. Not one ounce of galvanized piping exists in this house after yesterday.

IMG_4587.JPG
Window in living/dining room. On either side you’ll see the walls demo’d out for running plumbing for the new bathroom on the second floor. The chase on the left for the wife’s new throne and pedestal sink upstairs, the chase on the right for the bathtub. The bottles in the window helped me to understand just what in the hell I was doing.

Sheetrock began today, will be done by Monday-ish. Cabinet assembly starts tomorrow. Pics coming soon. Whew…

2 Comments

Filed under demolition, electrical, house, plumbing, Tacoma

2 responses to “Holy Crap…

  1. Awesome, always excited to see pictures from a renovation, and it looks like this is going to be awesome. How about (1) some before pictures, and (2) more pictures of the exterior (unless that’s weird…don’t want any stalkers to be able to track you down…)

  2. Nice work. Remodels are always exciting but you found a treasure trove.

Leave a comment